more from
The Whistler
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Disappearing Roads

by James Davis Quintet

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price


Boogaloo 09:33


James Davis — trumpet
Dave Miller — guitar
Rob Clearfield— piano
Matt Ulery — double bass
Quin Kirchner — drums

This quintet’s members are frequent collaborators in various projects, here presenting a set of Davis’ compositions. In fact, this group of musicians have collaborated in kaleidoscopic ways. For instance: Davis, Miller and Kirchner had a long history with their band Zing!. Clearfield is a mainstay in Ulery’s various projects, including Loom and Ulery’s large-ensemble projects, some of which Davis and Miller have recorded and/or performed with. Clearfield leads a trio that features Kirchner as a member, and minus Davis the remaining quartet appears as Funky Miracle.

This group developed the material together on performances over the last few years, convening in January of 2017 for a three-day residency at The Whistler (Chicago, IL). The selections presented here are some of the highlights from the residency.

The compositions are inspired by life’s transitions, the entering and exiting of life’s different chapters, and fulfillment arising from unexpected sources.


released June 15, 2018

Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Dave Zuchowski

Artwork by Bekah Miller


all rights reserved



James Davis Quintet Chicago, Illinois

James Davis — trumpet
Dave Miller — guitar
Rob Clearfield— piano
Matt Ulery — bass
Quin Kirchner — drums

contact / help

Contact James Davis Quintet

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like James Davis Quintet, you may also like: